Raison d’etre

IF you are wondering why the thumbnail image for this first post is so painfully generic-looking, it’s because I got it from the public domain. It lacks a copyright, in other words. As I’ve discovered recently, it turns out there aren’t very many flattering pictures that are *technically* (i.e., legally) available for free.

Do not—I repeat, do not—judge mechabear too harshly based on that visual first impression! Or do, it won’t really be a problem either way. The point is that I can already sense my formerly ardent commitment to mastering the ins-and-outs of copyright law beginning to wane in light of the fact that literally no one else cares about what happens on low-traffic personal blogs. Basically, what I’m saying is that future posts will have sexier thumbnails (won’t be hard).

What we here at mechabear aim to provide is nothing less than the most insightful and reliable reviews in all of the important areas a casual nerd should be concerned with. But they will also be amazing, spicy reviews! Put another way, you should come to this site every day of your life, or if that’s too much for you, at least every time you are curious about a new anime or film or video game. Mechabear has your back on allllllllll that.

Why “mechabear,” you ask? Well, “mecha” so that you know we’re somewhere on the nipponophilia scale between “I watched Pokémon that one time” and “unrepentant weeaboo”; “bear” so that you want to cuddle up with this blog at night. We at the mechabear team family really encourage that. We’re all insomniacs, so chances are updates will come in around midnight anyway.

Mechabear has other desires, too. In addition to reviews of stuff, expect to find:

  • Hard-hitting reporting in the relevant industries! Occasionally. Like pretty rarely, but still sometimes.
  • smug and incisive editorials/opinion pieces!
  • more content that I can’t think of right now!
  • weekly updates!

I know what you’re thinking: “Oh wow, take that internet. Nobody’s ever done this idea before, zzz.” Quite possibly I deserve your derision. I actually embrace it, because this is admittedly the tritest angle ever conceived. In any case, I’m still excited to make this happen, because actually writing about this stuff on a blog feels 100x more productive than sitting around thinking about it to myself and depriving the world of my excellent conclusions and savoir faire.

So, there’s that. This font kicks ass and I’m quite happy with my blog interface. I feel like I’m launching in Zeta.

 

Comment, subscribe, consume! <-(more content on this blog (when it exists))

Go ahead, enlighten us

